Subscribe to Granta today

  • 10 January 2009

The Story Prize 2009


The Story Prize, an annual award for books of short fiction, now in its fifth year, has announced its shortlist for 2009. The three finalists are Jhumpa Lahiri for Unaccustomed Earth (Alfred A. Knopf), Joe Meno for Demons in the Spring (Akashic Books) and Tobias Wolff for Our Story Begins (Alfred A. Knopf).

These three books were selected from among seventy-three story collections from fifty-six different publishers or imprints. Lahiri’s Unaccustomed Earth debuted at number one on the New York Times Best-Seller List and was the unanimous choice for Ireland’s Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award. Meno’s Demons in the Spring is published by small press Akashic Books in a limited edition with original illustrations by twenty artists from the fine art, graphic, and comic-book worlds – and part of the proceeds benefit 826Chicago, a drop-in tutoring centre. Wolff’s Our Story Begins includes sixteen stories from three previous collections and adds ten new stories to the mix, representing a substantial selection of accomplished work.

Founder Julie Lindsey and Director Larry Dark selected the finalists for The Story Prize. Three independent judges will determine the winner. This year’s judges are Daniel Menaker (former executive editor-in-chief of Random House and fiction editor at The New Yorker, and the author of two short-story collections and a novel), Rick Simonson (who founded and directs the nationally renowned reading series of Seattle’s Elliott Bay Books) and Hannah Tinti (award winning author of the novel The Good Thief and short-story collection Animal Crackers and the editor of literary magazine One Story).

The Story Prize’s annual event, featuring readings and interviews with each of the finalists, will take place at the New School’s Tishman Auditorium in New York City at 7:30 p.m. on Wednesday, March 4. The past winners of The Story Prize are The Dew Breaker by Edwidge Danticat (2005), The Hill Road by Patrick O’Keeffe (2006), The Stories of Mary Gordon by Mary Gordon (2007), and Like You’d Understand, Anyway by Jim Shepard (2008).

For more on The Story Prize, visit the official website or read The Story Prize blog.

Comments (8)

You need to create an account or log in to comment.

  1. Jon corner

    Mon Dec 22 11:01:17 GMT 2014

    Glad to be one of many visitants on this awing web site

  2. Chris evans

    Fri Feb 27 08:00:11 GMT 2015

    I likes your post site and its really good. Would like to hear more from you and will be visiting your site for your greatt posts
    <a href=""> Happy Holi 2015 Wishes </a>

    <a href=""> Happy Holi 2015 Messages </a>

    <a href=""> Happy Holi 2015 quotes </a>

    <a href=""> Happy Holi 2015 Wallpapers </a>

    <a href=""> Happy Holi 2015 Bollywood stars </a>

    <a href=""> Happy Holi 2015 Jokes </a>

    <a href=""> Hollywood Actress HD Wallpapers </a>
    <a href=""> Bollywood Actress HD Wallpapers </a>
    <a href=""> Hot Actress HD Wallpapers </a>
    <a href=""> Hollywood Actors HD Wallpapers </a>

  3. Najib

    Sat Feb 28 08:10:40 GMT 2015

    If you want to read manga online or watch anime and Naruto everyday feel free to visit